top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBobby Ford

Reading Blog #3

Net art is an interesting concept to me since technology has been surrounding me my entire life and yet I still have seen very few instances of net art being done on a level that people can view from the comforts of their screen. Ideas such as telling a story through exposed code and error codes really spark my creativity.

The article also mentions the idea that with CNN becoming a prominent website that there was a fear of mainstream media taking over the internet and corporatizing it, and that fear was surprisingly well founded since even today it feels as if any spark of creativity that is independent will only last for so long before being pounced on by a larger corporation. *cough* vine *cough*

May I also say that when the article is describing the living situation of Cheang as a "digital bento box" I love that wording. It feels so appropriate as a series of technologies which all function differently but have been hand picked in order to serve a single purpose well.

Some of the other examples of net art in this article also caught my eye, such as the modification of a UI on a program in order to convey a message. The example in the paper uses the UI to comment on heritage and how it is just a series of options that effect how a person is perceived.

Overall this has given me a pretty good idea of what I could do in order to make my project stand out.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page